- Make It Better – Family, Food, Finances & Philanthropy - http://makeitbetter.net -

100 Impact Stories: Food

Posted By Julie Chernoff and Susan B. Noyes On November 6, 2017 @ 2:00 pm In Dining | No Comments

Food for Your Stomach and Your Soul: 10 Food-Centric Philanthropies [1]

By Gabrielle Tasiopoulos | March 2016

Sure, we’ve reviewed hundreds of restaurants [2] over the years, and printed at least as many recipes [3] in our popular dining section. Need a great spot for brunch [4], pizza [5] or hot chocolate [6]? We’ve got you covered. But this compendium of food-driven philanthropies cuts to the heart of the matter: we might enjoy a good meal, but we must remember the need that’s out there in our communities, locally, nationally, and globally. It’s all about access — to both food and education. These very worthy nonprofits are “using the power of food to make a difference,” says Tasiopoulos.

Read More…


Article printed from Make It Better – Family, Food, Finances & Philanthropy: http://makeitbetter.net

URL to article: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/100-impact-stories-food/

URLs in this post:

[1] Food for Your Stomach and Your Soul: 10 Food-Centric Philanthropies: http://makeitbetter.net/philanthropy/food-stomach-soul-9-food-centric-philanthropies/

[2] we’ve reviewed hundreds of restaurants: http://makeitbetter.net/category/dining/reviews/

[3] recipes: http://makeitbetter.net/category/dining/recipes/

[4] brunch: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/12-brunch-spots-were-loving-right-now/

[5] pizza: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/best-pizza-chicago/

[6] hot chocolate: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/where-to-find-the-best-hot-chocolate-around-chicago/

[7] Eating Locally, Acting Globally: http://makeitbetter.net/philanthropy/eating-locally-acting-globally/

[8] Elizabeth and Sixteen: A Tale of Two Michelin-Starred Chicago Restaurants: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/elizabeth-and-sixteen-a-tale-of-two-michelin-starred-chicago-restaurants/

[9] The Amazing Ways James Beard Award Winners and Finalists Pay It Forward: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/james-beard-award-winners-and-finalists-on-giving-back/

[10] 20 Delectable Randolph Street Restaurants You Need to Know: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/20-delectable-randolph-street-restaurants-you-need-to-know/

[11] The Best Burgers in the Chicago Area: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/best-burgers-chicago-area/

[12] How to Build the Perfect Cheese Platter: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/build-perfect-cheese-platter/

[13] How Sweet It Is: Best Bakeries in Chicago: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/how-sweet-it-is-best-bakeries-in-chicago-and-the-north-shore/

[14] Fresh-Grown Convenience: The Best CSA Boxes: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/fresh-grown-convenience-the-best-csa-boxes/

[15] Chicago Syrians Dish Up Middle Eastern Food — And Help Refugees Feel at Home: http://makeitbetter.net/dining/chicago-syrians-dishing-incredible-middle-eastern-food-helping-refugees-feel-home/

Copyright © 2014 MIB. All rights reserved.